Lunch Hour


As a working mom you know that you are given an hour long lunch hour.  Well the lunch hour ends up turning into how fast can I get as many errands done as possible.

Yesterday, Chickie had an ortho appointment to have her retainer checked.  The appointment wasn’t until 1:00 so I thought it was perfect.  She could eat lunch at school, I pick her up, return her to school and I would still have a little time for my lunch hour.  So, so wrong.

I picked Chickie up from school at 12:45.  She hadn’t had lunch yet.  Her class was just going to the lunch room when she left.  First failed plan.  Then we get to the ortho and they are running behind.  Second failed plan.  We were there 45 minutes and I ended up having to take Chickie to lunch.  Third failed plan.  So we headed off to Subway and split a turkey sub and tried to talk as we both were inhaling our food.  I returned her to school at 2:00.  Fourth failed plan.

So the lunch hour that I thought would be quick and easy, not so much.  It ended up being 1 1/2 hours, inhaling lunch which made both of us queasy the rest of the afternoon.

The one good side about all of this, Chickie and I had some good quality mother/daughter time together.  I guess when the opportunity is there, you must take advantage of it.

Enjoy your Thursday.  They are predicting 5 to 7 inches of snow for us today.  Bubba is to have his last basketball game today.  I’m thinking that is going to be another failed plan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous, Working Mom

Leave a Reply

