Toasty Tuesday


Toasty Tuesday is what the Weather Lady called it on the local tv station this morning.  That doesn’t sound good at all.  She called it Toasty Tuesday because we are to reach 99° today.  That is before the heat index kicks in.  Oh, the air conditioning is going to be a rock’n today.

Must admit this is one amazing woman:

Image: Rep. Gabrielle Giffords

(source)

Gabrielle Gifford returned to the senate last night to make her vote just seven months after being shot point blank in the head.  What an amazing and strong woman.  To overcome being shot in the head and be able to talk, walk and make a very important vote.  AMAZING.  She said it was very important for her to be there to vote so it wasn’t her not voting that caused our country to default on our loans.  I hope my daughter grows up to be as strong as her.

Now on to me, so yesterday I headed out for my 30 minute circuit class.  Well the class turned into one person, yep me.  Just little ole me and the trainer.  So I got a free personal trainer session.  Score except he worked me hard.  So this was the workout routine:

  • Warm up
  • Walking lunges w/ overhead press w/ 10 lb dumbbells – 10X
  • Walking lunges holding 10 lb dumbbells at side – 10X
  • 60 sec ellipitcal run – resistance 10
  • Incline press w/ 10 lb dumbbels to standing overhead press – 20 sec
  • 60 sec ellipitcal run – resistance 10
  • Walking lunges with 10 lb dumbbels – 10X
  • 60 sec ellipitcal run – resistance 11
  • Ball squats – 20 sec.
  • 5 step ups on right leg – 5 step ups on left leg
  • Ball squats – 20 sec
  • 5 step ups on right leg – 5 step ups on left leg
  • calf machine with 50 lb weight – 10 X
  • calf raises with body weight – 10 X
  • calf machine with 50 lb weight – 10X
  • calf raises with body weight – 10X
  • Push ups – close grip – on bench – 10X
  • Tricep machine – 70lb – 10X
  • Push ups – close grip – on bench – 10X
  • Tricep machine – 60 lb – 10X
  • Bicep machine – 80 lb – 10X
  • Lat pull down machine – 75 lb – 10 X
  • Bicep machine – 80 lb – 10X
  • Lat pull down machine – 75 lb – 10X
  • 60 sec different ab exercises.

Let me tell you, I was one sweaty person by the end and my calves are hurting today.

Last night after supper Hubby and I went for our water walk for 50 minutes.  It was a good exercise day yesterday.  Confession:  When we got home from water walking I had Skinny Cow ice cream – strawberry cheesecake.  I have never had this before and boy was it so, so good.  Defintely will be buying this kind again.

This morning I got up and took the pups for a quick 10 minute walk and then off for my walk/run.

This is my walk 3 minutes/run 3 minutes for 33 minutes.  I went 2.46 miles.  Yes, that is less miles than on Sunday but I ran the whole time and didn’t go as fast.  My legs were hurting but the run wasn’t as tough as on Sunday.  Plus before I left I ate 1/2 a banana with peanut butter.  I think I would rather get the running down and then work on the speed rather than not being able to run the whole time.  I am very proud of myself that the runs are actually getting easier.  Plus I actually ran for 15 minutes this morning.  Yeah me.

So once I got back from my run I was hungry.

Another yogurt bowl with strawberries and peanut butter granola.  Yum, yum, yum.  I am craving these.  It must be because it is so hot out and this cools me right down.  Plus I had iced coffee.

Now off to do the work thang.

P.S.  Don’t forget to vote for Fort Dodge, Iowa in the Bark for Your Park contest.  There is one more day.  Please help us get a dog park for our dogs.  They would so appreciate it plus it will be the only one in Iowa.

Please vote and make me so, so happy.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, workout

One response to “Toasty Tuesday

  1. Pingback: Fitness Friday | Mother of 2 Lover of Shoes

Leave a Reply

