Bike Ride and Summer Succotash


So this morning we got up early and headed out to the Market on Central.

Chickie was not thrilled to be there that early and Bubba didn’t even want his picture taken.  Oh well, at least they were rewarded with mini donuts and we picked up some melons.  Oh, they will be making an appearance later on.  So after the market we hit the grocery store and got our hair did.  Yep, the three of us did so now the kiddos are ready to start school with fresh haircuts.

So once we got home from all of our running it was time for a bike ride.

Neither one was happy to go but the exercise would do them good.  So we were off for some fun and sun.

Unfortunately there wasn’t to much fun in the sun.  There was a lot of complaining in the sun.  So we finally made it home and luckily I took the garmin with or unluckily I took the garmin with?

Yep, it took us almost an hour to go almost 6 miles.  I think I could walk faster than that.  Plus I stopped the timer everytime we stopped for a break.  The kiddos  Bubba was doing a ton of complaining and not wanting to ride because his legs, arms, and butt hurt.  Now the kid is 12 and wants to do football this fall, how much do you push your kids?  He is going to have to really toughen up when it comes to football because this bike ride is nothing compared to what football practices will be.  I know as a mother my first instinct is to protect him but on the other hand I want to push him very hard so he grows up and everyone doesn’t think he is a wimp.  I look at other kids and I think boy, they are so much more mature than Bubba, did I baby him to much?  This is a very hard stage for me as a mother as I am sure it is a very hard stage for him but I just want him to be respected and to have somewhat of backbone and to at least try new things and to push himself further than he thinks he can be pushed.  Does anyone else have this problem and do they have any advice?  I could use some help.  This is such unfamiliar territory and I want to make sure I get it right, at least the best I can.

So when we got back our tummies were grumbling so it was time for lunch.

Now most of the Blog World knows that Mama Pea’s new cookbook just came out this week, which I am dying to go buy, so in honor of her I thought I would make her Summer Succotash Quesadillas with Nacho Mmmm Sauce.

Let’s just say this is Mmmm good.  I could have eaten 2 of these just by myself.

So here’s the recipe that I adapted for my family:

Summer Succotash Quesadillas with Nacho Mmmm Sauce

Ingedients:

  • 8 whole grain tortillas
  • 1 c. shredded smoked gouda

For the Succotash Filling:

  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced
  • 1 ear of corn, kernels removed from the cob (I had leftover corn in the fridge that I had already cooked and cut off the cob)
  • 1 purple pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 zucchini, cut into half moons
  • 1 glove of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 c. water
  • 2 t. lemon juice
  • 1/2 t. agave
  • 1/2 t. cumin
  • pepper, to taste

For the Nacho Mmmm Sauce

  • 2/3 c. jarred salsa
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/4 c. slivered almonds
  • 1/4 c. garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 c. nutritional yeast
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1 t. minced garlic
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • 1 t. cumin

Instructions

For the Nacho Mmmm Sauce:

Combine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Vegetarian, workout

Leave a Reply

