Strength workout and run


Last night I wanted to do a yoga workout since my legs are feeling tight from the running and water walking that I have been doing.  Unfortunately the on demand exercise tv was not working so I couldn’t do it.  So I decided to do a quick strength train workout since I have been picking Bubba up from football class and have missed my circuit class on Monday and Wednesday this week.  It took me 20 minutes and I was sweating by the end.

Here is the workout:

Exercise                                 Weights               Reps                 Sets

Bicep curls                                    8 lbs.                      15                         3

Side shoulder raises                    5 lbs.                      15                         3

Deadlifts                                        30 lbs.                   15                         3

Tricep extensions                         8 lbs.                     15                         3

Alternating Reverse Lunges       15 lbs.                   15                         3

Pushups (on knees)                     Bodyweight         15                         3

Wall sits                                         Bodyweight          30 sec.                3

Planks                                            Bodyweight           30 sec.                3

Full sit-up                                     Bodyweight           12                         3

Reverse Crunch                           Bodyweight           12                         3

Bubba decided to get his workout in as well.

So this morning I got up and got my walk/run in.  Of course last night I was awake at 2:30 because it was thundering and lightening so I knew it was going to be hot and humid out.

I was a sweaty mess by the time I got home.

My walk 4 min/run 2 min and I ended up going 2.36 miles in 33 minutes.  That is pretty darn good for me.  What I have noticed after doing this program this week, my mileage is increasing and the running is defintely getting easier.  I am excited to start Stage 4 next week.

So when I went to bed last night I was craving peanut butter granola but after my run I wanted something cold.  So what’s a girl to do?

Combine the to.  Hello smoothie bowl.  In the smoothie:

  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 handful frozen blueberries
  • 4 fresh strawberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1/2 c. milk

Topped with homemade peanut butter granola.  This hit the spot.

Now it is off to do the work thing and it is starting to storm here.

Also, don’t forget to vote for Fort Dodge, Iowa in the Bark for Your Park – 6 more days before the winner is announced.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, workout

One response to “Strength workout and run

  1. Pingback: Fitness Friday | Mother of 2 Lover of Shoes

Leave a Reply

