Football Camp and Spaghetti with Black Bean Sauce


So this morning I got up to run but I just wasn’t feeling it so I took the pups for a quick 20 minute walk.  It is a cool 65° outside but I felt like a smoothie when I got back.

In the mix today:

  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1 big handful of spinach
  • 8 large strawberries
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1 scoop Chocolate Whey Protein Powder.

So today Bubba had the start of Football Camp

Where's Bubba?

 

There he is.

So his football camp runs into when I would normally have my circuit class on Mondays.  So I had to forego the class in order to pick Bubba up.  Yes, a sacrifice that all parents go through.  Since my lunch hour was used up by picking up Bubba and running him and I forgot to pack my lunch I had to dig around at work to see what I had there.

I had one three spoonfuls of peanut butter and the yogurt plus an apple (which I forgot to take a picture of because I was starving).  Luckily I do keep some food at work.  I also had some granola about 2 hours after this (onece again forgot to get a picture because I was starving).

So Hubby made supper tonight.

Spaghetti with Black Bean Sauce

  • 6 oz uncooked spaghetti
  • 1 small green pepper, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2 cups pasta sauce
  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 T minced fresh basil
  • 1 t dried oregano
  • 1/2 t fennel seed
  • 1/4 t garlic salt
  • 1 c shredded part-skim mozzerlla cheese.

Cook spaghetti according to package directions.  Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, saute green pepper and onion in oil until tender.  Stir in the pasta sauce, black beans and seasonings.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered, for 5 minutes.  Drain spaghetti.  Top with sauce and sprinkle with mozzarella cheese.

This is really, really good plus it is quick and easy to make.  Off to get some work done.  Have a great night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Dinner

Leave a Reply

