Baked Chocolate Cake Doughnuts with Peanut Butter Icing


Oh yes I did:

But before I get to the recipe let’s talk about my workout this morning.

So as you know I am trying to get into running.  I have tried the Couch to 5k running plan before and it didn’t work.  I stuck with it for 2 weeks and it just didn’t fit me at all.  I just couldn’t keep up with the schedule.  So the other day I came across another running plan called Beginner’s Guide to Running for Weight Loss.  So I read through it and it is something that will work for me.  Stage 1:  Walk for 30 minutes.  Check I can do that already.  Moving on

Stage 2:  Walk for 4 minutes.  Run for 1 minute.  Repeat 4 more time.  End with 4 minutes of walking for a total workout time: 29 minutes, 5 of which are running.  Do this at least 3 or 4 times in a week before moving on to the next stage.  So after last weeks run of only 2 days.  I ran longer than 1 minute at a time.  So I could check that stage off.  So moving on

Stage 3:  Walk for 4 minutes.  Run for 2 minutes.  Repeat 4 more times.  End with 3 minutes of walking.  Total workout time:  33 minutes, 10 of which are running.  Do this workout at least 3 or 4 times in a week before moving on to the next stage.  Well this is the stage I started with today.  Defintely could do this plus it had me going longer for a recovery period after you ran.  So I headed out this morning to do it.

Well, I went 2.28 miles in 31:19 minutes.  No it wasn’t the 33 minutes because this happened:

That is not just sweat, it is also rain.  It started to poor rain on me when I was 8 minutes from finishing my workout so I cut it short.  Not bad though for my first time out.  I defintely like this training plan.  It gives you enough time to recover after running and it encourages you to take it slow.

So when I got back I wanted doughnuts.  Yes, I need a t-shirt now that says “Will run for Doughnuts”.

Baked Chocolate Cake Doughnuts

You will need:

  • 1/2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. cake flour
  • 2 T natural cocoa powder
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1/2 t. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 T. butter
  • 1/4 c. buttermilk
  • 1/4 c. greek yogurt
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg.

Lightly grease a doughnut tin and preheat the oven to 350°.

 

 

Combine together the flours, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, nutmeg and salt.

 

 

Add the butter and using your fingers, rub it into the dry ingredients until it becomes coarse crumbs.

 

 

In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, yogurt, vanilla and egg.

 

 

Add the milk mixture to the flour mixture and stir just until combined.  Do not overmix, or your doughnuts may be a bit rubbery.

 

 

Fill each cup 1/2 to 3/4 full.  You can do this with a spoon.  It’s important not to overfill, or as the doughnuts rise, you’ll lose the hole.

Bake for 6 to 10 minutes (depending on the size of your doughnut pan), until the dougnuts spring back when touched.  Let cool slightly on a wire rack before icing.  If coating in powdered sugar, let them cool even a bit more.

For the Peanut Butter Frosting

  • 1 T. Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 T. Water
  • 1/4 c. Powdered Sugar

Melt peanut butter and water together.  Stir in powdered sugar until smooth.

Let’s just say this were a huge hit in our house.

Bubba said he was in heaven.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, workout

Leave a Reply

