Meaty Green Bean Casserole


Before I get to the casserole let’s do lunch first, shall we?

Since I knew we were having treats this afternoon at work I decided to go light on lunch.  Enter scrambled eggs with nutritional yeast and a bunch of red grapes.  I forget how much I love scrambled eggs.  I must make a note to have these more often.  Plus since I have found nutritional yeast, I don’t need the cheese like I used to on the eggs.  It just adds a nice consistency plus it almost is like cheese on top.  The grapes were nice and juicy and sweet.

So we celebrated one of my co-worker’s birthdays today at work.  In our office when it is your birthday you get to pick what you want for a treat and then the office buys it.  How lucky are we?  So she picked the local ice cream shop for her treat (nothing like honoring National Junk Food Day) so who am I to pass up ice cream?

Enter Black Raspberry Shake.  Oh yes, it is good.  Of course I would have rather had a Black Raspberry Malt but I knew it was way, way worse than a shake.  Now I only got a small but wholly cow it is huge.

Pictures don’t do it justice but yes, this is huge.  It was so big, I couldn’t even eat the whole thing.  I ended up leaving almost half of it.  That is how it is because I always finish my ice cream.

So by the time I got home for supper I was still full from the afternoon shake but I thought I would show you what hubby made.

Enter the Meaty Green Bean Casserole.  Now I got this recipe from Mama Pea which her original recipe was Meaty Vegan Green Bean Casserole.  Now hubby and the kiddos do not like tofu (and honestly, I don’t either) so hubby changed it up a bit.  Here is his recipe.

  • 1 pound green beans, trimmed and cut
  • 4 oz. chopped mushrooms
  • 1 pound ground sausage
  • 1 c. vegetable broth
  • 1/2 c. skim milk
  • 3 T. flour
  • 1 t. soy sauce
  • 1 t. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 gloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 slice bread, torn into chunks
  • 1 T. butter
  • 1 cu. french fried onions.

Preheat oven to 425°

Bring a pot of water to a boil.  Add green beans and some salt.  Boil for 5 minutes.  Revmoe from heat and drain, rinse with cold water to stop the cooking process.

In the meantime, suate mushrooms, garlic and sausage in a medium skillet, until browned.

In a small mixing bowl, combine broth, milk, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce and flour and whisk until well combined.  Add mixture to pan and heat until thicened and bubbling.

Place green beans in a medium casserole dish and pour sauce over the top.

In a food processor combine bread, butter and salt and pepper.

Sprinkle bread crumbs and fried onions over top of casserole and bake for 20 minutes.

Let me tell you this must have been really good because the kiddos ate it all and Hubby had seconds.  I’d say it’s a winner.

Now off to do some yoga, my legs are very, very tight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ice Cream, Lunch, Supper

Leave a Reply

