Happy Saturday


Good morning and hope you are staying cool.  It is going to be a hot one here today.

So last night on our exciting Friday night what did we do?  Gave Gizmo a haircut and a bath.

Not cool Mom!

She was not happy with me at all.  I was lucky to get her to look at me for this picture.  Since it is going to be so hot, I thought she would enjoy not having so much hair, guess I was wrong. 

After we were done cleaning up from the haircut Hubby made me a grown up Root Beer Float.

He put in:

  • 2 scoops vanilla ice cream
  • 1 cup root beer
  • 1 shot of vanilla vodka

Nothing like taking me back to my childhood.  I haven’t had a root beer float in forever.  It tasted great.

So last night I was checking out blogs and I came across a recipe for a Breakfast Cookie on Kristin’s Blog – Iowa Girl Eats.  Now I have tried Fitnessista‘s Breakfast Cookie and I wasn’t a huge fan of it.  It was alright but I think it was the protein powder.  So I tried Kristin’s recipe.  So last night I mixed up:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 T peanut butter
  • 1/8 c. skim milk
  • 1 mashed banana
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Drizzle of honey
  • 1 t cocoa powder

I then formed the mixture into a big cookie shope on a plate, wrapped it up tight with plastic wrap, popped it in the fridge for the night.

This morning I took it out of the fridge and topped it with strawberries.

Let me tell you between the texture being like a cookie dough texture plus the taste.  This is the best breakfast cookie by far I have made.  Next time I think I would use applesauce in place of the banana.  But this is great.  Will defintely be making this one again.

Now it is off to the new market in town.  We will see how it compares to the one we went to last weekend in Des Moines.  Have a great Saturday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast

Leave a Reply

