So not a runner


Nope, never been a runner.  In high school I did not run track nor did I go out for cross country.  Yes, I was a band geek.  My brother was the runner in the family.  I absolutely hated running.  I think it is because my legs are so short (yes, that is an excuse and yes, I use it all the time) that it takes me twice as many steps as any other runner.  But I have been wanting to run.  I have been trying very hard to eat healthier but the weight just doesn’t come off so I’m thinking I need to increase my cardio.  So when Hubby and I were in Sioux Falls we purchased this:

So this morning I decided to get up and go running.  Plus Hubby and I have a wager (that he doesn’t know about yet) to lose 20 pounds by October 12th.  We have family pictures around that time and I would like to drop some weight.  So anyway, I got up at 5:30 and went running/walking.  I told you, I’m not a runner but I did my best.

So I went 1.5 miles in 19:50 minutes.  Need to defintely work on that.  I am going to defintely increase that by a lot.  My goal for myself is to be able to run a 5k by October 12th as well.  Oh, the goals I have for myself.  Confession:  I always make goals for myself but I have a terrible time keeping them.  I do good for 2 weeks and then I just quit.  I don’t think in my entire life I have ever completed a goal.  Not this time oh no, I am going to finish the 2 above goals that I have.  I will need all the help that I can get.  So if anyone has any encouraging words or advice on how to stick with these goals, please let me know and they will be greatly appreciated.

So once I got home from my run/walk it was time for breakfast.  I was reading through the blogs last night and came across a recipe from Kelly on her blog, Foodie Fresh for Peachy Keen Breakfast Cake.  Well, I have peaches from the Farmer’s Market last weekend that I needed to use plus who doesn’t love cake for breakfast.  So this morning I made it with a few modifications.  I didn’t have oat bran.

Peachy Keen Breakfast Cake

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tsp. Truvia
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 small peach, cut into bite-size pieces

In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt.  Stir to mix well.   Add egg white, truvia, vanilla extrat and milk and stir well.  Add peach and stir again to mix the peach throughout.

Put into a greased ramekin and press down to flatten and even out the cake.  Microwave on high for three minutes.  Cake will slide out of ramekin once it is done.

This cake is very good the only thing is it is very dense, I don’t know if it is the whole wheat flour and maybe with oat bran it would be different.f  I topped mine with Greek Yogurt and sprinkled with Truvia.  I would also add a little nutmeg the next time.  It needed just a little more flavoring and I think nutmeg would do it.

If you are following along with the Bible in 90 days I did not get the last 3 chapters read.  It amazes me what Abraham and Sarah went through and yes, if I was 90 years old like Sarah and God told my husband that I would have a child next year I would have laughed also considering they didn’t even have children.  Well today is day 3 and today you need to read Genesis 28:20 through Genesis 40:11.

Have a great Wednesday.

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Challenge, workout

3 responses to “So not a runner

  1. So glad you liked it! I think nutmeg or even cinnamon would be an excellent addition. I often think of those as cold weather spices and don’t even think about them during the summer months. I almost always add some kind of nut butter as well for healthy fat, which is probably why I never need any additional flavor. You’re right about WW flour being more filling than oat bran. Oat bran has about 120-130 calories in a 1/2 cup while whole wheat flour has about double that, so it totally makes sense if you found it more filling. I LOVE it when people try my recipes. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I Did It!!! | Mother of 2 Lover of Shoes

Leave a Reply

