The Kale Experience


So when Hubby and I went to bed last night we thought we would get up early and go for a bike ride due to the fact it is supposed to be 90 degrees today.  Well when we woke up it was pouring rain, so much for the bike ride.  So I wasn’t sure what to have for breakfast until I remembered this:

When we were at Panera Bread yesterday I received a free pastery for being a new card member.  Hubby picked out this huge cinnamon roll.  We were full when we were done eating so we wrapped it up and brought it home.  What better way to start your day, right?  Well, the cinnamon roll had an orange flavor to it (must try to make this) which was fanatastic but after a couple of bites four bites I just wasn’t feeling it so Hubby ate the rest.  I ended up just drinking my iced coffee because nothing else sounded good to me.  Well after sorting some laundry and doing some vaccuming I was craving something green.  Wait, me crave something green, that would never have happened to me before.  I must be ill or eating healthier has finally started to rub off on me. 

When we were at the Farmer’s Market yesterday I picked up some kale.  Now I have read other blogs and they are saying how good kale is for you.  Well most of them cook it and there is no way I could get Hubby to eat it that way (he won’t eat cooked spinach so I know there was no way he would eat cooked kale plus he thought I was crazy when I picked it up yesterday) plus all the recipes say you have to message the kale.  Wait, I have to what???  First off, I paid to obtain this kale and now you want me to message it?  No way it should be giving me a message plus I’m sure there was no tip when I was done, no matter how good the message was.  So it was to the Cloud Blogs.  I must find a different way to cook the kale that Hubby would like it.  Now steps in Mama Pea.  If you haven’t checked out Mama Pea’s Blog, Peas and Thank You, you must.  I absolutely love her blog plus she has inspired me to eat a more plant based diet.  So I found BBQ Kale Chips on her blog.  Well now, Hubby loves BBQ Chips so why not make them.  So it was off to the kitchen I went.

First off I washed and tore the kale into chip sized pieces (no messaging needed here) and placed them on a cookie sheet that had been sprayed with cooking spray.

Then in a small bowl I mixed together:

  •    1 t. paprika
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder (Mama Pea used garlic salt)
  • 1/2 t. sugar
  • 1/4 t. minced onion (Mama Pea used onion powder)
  • 1/4 t. chili powder
  • 1/4 t. dry mustard
  • pinch of cayenne

I then sprayed the kale with cooking spray and then sprinkled with the spice blend.

Then into a 300° oven for 20-30 minutes, checking every 10 minutes.  Chips should be light and crisp, but watch them so they don’t burn.

So they were done and they smelled terrific while they were cooking.  It was time for the tast test.  So down to the basement I went with some.

Hubby was working away at the basement, yes we are still not done with it.  We just have teh family room walls left to do but I am being lazy and not helping out so Hubby hasn’t done anything yet either.  Now back to the taste test.

Yes he was a skeptic at first but he did try it.  Decision:  He liked them but said they were a little bland (next time I will add more spices) and yes I thought they were great.  Next taste testers will be the kiddos when they return from vacation.

So the end result:

Kale chips rock

Mama Pea rocks

In my next life I am coming back as Kale so that I can get paid to get a message.

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Vegetarian

2 responses to “The Kale Experience

  1. I really need to give kale chips a try. I have seen them everywhere! They look so easy and delicious. I can’t wait to give it a try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

