Off to the Market


So this morning Hubby and I got up bright and early and hit the road.

We were heading for a destination and we were on a mission.

The Des Moines Downtown Farmer’s Market.  Now we drove 1 hour 40 minutes to this market.  The reason, ours in our town is pathetic.  Yup, nothing compared to this.  On a good Saturday morning we are lucky to have 10 vendors.  Yes, you read that correctly, 10 vendors.  So Hubby and I decided we must go to a big one and see what it is all about.  Let me tell you it was absolutely amazing.  I knew it was big but this was unbelievable.  I absolutely loved it.  I could have spent all day there.  I did walk away with a few things.

Hubby was starving when we got there so he grabbed a hashbrown and a egg, sausage and cheese sandwich.  I forgot to take a picture.  I got the flowers and hubby got the stone cactus.  I also picked up some kale and I cannot wait to make kale chips tomorrow.  I have to do some research and find a good recipe for them.  Hubby is not excited so I have to find a good one. 

Yes, the sun is in my eyes but I am having an absolute blast.

Once we were done at the market (Hubby had to pull me away) we headed off to do some shopping.  When in Rome, right?

We hit up TJ Maxx and Best Buy and then my stomach started growling so it was time for some food.

 

We hit up Panera Bread because Hubby wanted some bagels to bring home so I had the black bean soup and the Strawberry Poppyseed and Chicken Salad.  Holy cow the salad was amazing.  It had romaine lettuce, grilled chicken, pecans, strawberries, blueberries, pineapple and mandarian oranges with a poppyseed dressing.  I loved this salad as well.  I am defintely going to have to repeat this one.  I ended up not eating all of the soup because I got full.

After we were done there it was time for a little more shopping and then it was time for some ice cream before we hit the road again.

We went to Maggie Moo’s because I had a coupon.  Hubby and I shared this.  It was called Toffee Plunge.  It was Cinnamoo™ with Heath Bar®, chocolate flakes & caramel.  This was absolutely fantastic.  I loved, loved this.  Unfortunately, Hubby had to fight me off to even get half of this.  This was amazing and defintely need to go to this place again.

When we got back home we did a bunch of work and a bunch of errands.  Now I’m off to have a Sangria and enjoy the rest of the night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Shopping

Leave a Reply

