Appointment, Shopping and Eats


So this morning after I blogged I hopped in the shower and afterwards I went to do my hair and guess what I forgot.  My curling iron.

I did the best I could with what I had to work with.  Not the best but I guess it would have to do.  After I was ready (which took forever trying to work without a curling iron) it was off to my first appointment.

Love the gown?  As you know my mom was diagnosised with breast cancer and since my grandmother and aunt died from it I am required to obtain a mammogram every year.  If you are a woman over the age of 40 (or if you are at high risk for breast cancer), please, please get your mammogram every year.  Avera McKennan in Sioux Falls is the best.  I was in and out of mammogram within 20 minutes.  Which included me changing in and out of my gown.

So afterwards Hubby and I did some shopping.

Since my birthday is tomorrow, Kohl’s sent me a $10 gift card to use.  Well yes I will.  Thank you very much.

I got 2 pairs of shorts, 1 capri and 1 skort.  I spent a little more than $10 but oh well, it is my birthday.  We also hit up Scheels, Bed Bath & Beyond.  Then it was time for lunch.

We ate a restaurant called Mixed.  Hubby and I had not heard of it.  They go green which is quite appealing.  Not only in veggies but also in recycable.

I had the Fruit Salad.  It comes with Spring Mix, Grilled Chicken, Baby Mandarin Oranges, Fresh Grapes, Dried Cranberries, Feta Cheese & Toasted Almonds.  I left the chicken out and they added extra fresh grapes in place of the chicken.  I had fat-free raspberry vinegarette.  This was a fantastic salad.  I will definitely have to repeat this at home.  Hubby had Caesarized Salad.  He said his was fantastic as well.

After our tummies were full it was time for more shopping.  We got a few things for the kiddos and a few more things for me.  Then it was time to go to see the doctor about my mammorgram results.  Everything came out perfect.  I am good for another year.  YEAH!!

After all the running around and doctor appointments it was time for supper.

Granite City Food & Brewery.  This place sounded interesting and I was in the mood for a beer.

They had great outdoor seating and a great selection of beers that they brew themselves.  Hubby and I chose the Northern Light which was a smooth beer.  On top of that a pitcher was $6 tonight verses $5.35 per glass.  Yes we will take the pitcher.

Hubby and I started with the tomatoe and basil flatbread.  Which was fabulous.  I had the Mediterrian Chicken Salad and Hubby had the meatloaf.  Yes underneath all those onion rings is meatloaf.

The meatloaf was served with a side of garlic mashed potatoes.  Now I know I said I was going vegetarian for the week but I had to try this.  Look at it.  This was absolute amazing.  My salad was quite good too and the bread and had a cream sauce under the cheese.  This was a great, great meal.

Hubby and I then hit up Cold Stone Creamery.  I had Blueberry Promegrante Yogurt with Strawberries and Gummy Bears and mix ins.  Hubby had the Carmel Churros Ice Cream.  This was excellent.  So over all every place we ate at today (besides breakfast which doesn’t count because it was at the hotel) was fabulous.  I highly recommend all of them.

Now off to watch the season finale of The Voice.  Who is going to win?

Leave a comment

Filed under Breast Cancer, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch

Leave a Reply

