Day 1 Vegetarian Recap plus a wild night


So yesterday was Day 1 of being vegetarian.  But I did a HUGE Blogger no no.  I delete my pictures from yesterday before I downloaded them.  I wasn’t thinking at all yesterday when I did it but I will give you a recap of what I ate.

For Breakfast I made Blueberry Vanilla Bean Stacked Pancakes with Blueberry Glaze I got the recipe from Oh She Glows’ website.  These are fantastic.  Everyone loved these.  The glaze made the pancakes plus I didn’t even have to put syrup on them.  Yum, yum.

For Lunch I made Yukon Gold White Bean Basil Burgers.  I got this recipe from Peas and Thank You.  I first must tell you I love Mama Pea’s blog.  She is one insightful lady and I love it.  Now back to the burgers, I loved these burgers.  I actually prefer these over any other burger I have had before.  My husband wasn’t too thrilled about them but he added on so many condiments, I don’t think he could really taste the burger.  I will work on him yet to start to enjoy some vegetarian food.  He has another 6 days to go.  On the side with these burgers  served Grilled Avocado which I found the recipe from Iowa Girl Eats (got to love Iowa girls).  Let me tell you, this is the only way to eat avocados.  Now I love avocados but I would never I thought to grill them and then add salsa to them.  I my goodness.  This topped off my meal for the day.  Of course Hubby wouldn’t even try it.  He doesn’t like avocados (so he says).  Believe me, I am going to work at him to at least try one bite of this.

For Supper I made Barbecue Black Bean Pita Pizza from Peas and Thank you (I told you I love Mama Pea).  This was the only way to eat pizza.  Now I do not normally like pineapple on my pizza but with the spicy barbecue sauce the sweetness of the pineapple just topped the cake.  In fact, Hubby loved this pizza.  Which I thought would be right up his alley because he loves ham and pineapple pizza.  Well he did say that it still needed the ham but it didn’t take him long to finish off his pizza though.

So, as you can tell Day 1 of Vegetarian Week wasn’t too bad.  Hubby survived and I thought all of th recipes wee great.

So last night I decided to do some baking.

I made Strawberry, Banana, n’ Nut Butter Love Muffins and Mini Whole Wheat Blueberry Breakfast Muffins with Cinnamon Streusel.  Both recipes come from Oh She Glows. Angela at Oh She Glows has some fantastic recipes and I will probably be using those part of this week as well.  These muffins are fantastic.  I ended up trying both of those after they came out of the oven last night.  Just couldn’t keep my fingers out of them.

So we went to bed at 10:30 last night knowing there was a storm brewing.  I luckly woke up at 1:30 this morning and we had no electricity.  Well the problem with that is we have a sump pump and we haven’t gotten a battery operated one yet so Hubby and I jumped out of bed and I woke my sister up and we baled water other wise our basement would have flooded.  Well, we baled ad baled and baled water meaning it is 1 1/2 hours that we baled water before the electricty came back on.  I wasn’t going to let our basement flood since we are 3/4 the way done with finishing our basement.  I didn’t want to start all over again.  Luckly we stayed ahead of the water but the water continued to pour in since we had been receiving rain since 8:30 last night.  Oh the joys of a sump pump.

When the alarm went off at 6 this morning it was very hard to get out of bed, but needless to stay I pryed myself out of bed to take the pups.  Here are a few pictures of tree branches down that I saw.

 This is nothing.  From what I have heard on the radio, whole trees have been uprooted plus as of 9 this morning almost 3,000 people in town were still without electricity so I guess an hour and half without it wasn’t so bad.  They are saying the electricty won’t be restored for another 24 – 36 hours.  Boy oh boy.

So after the walk and after baling the water last night I was starving this morning.

In the mix was a Stonyfield Lemon Yogurt, Fresh Blueberries and 2 crumbled up Mini Whole Wheat Blueberry Breakfast Muffins with Cinnamon Streusel.  This hit the spot this morning.

Now off to do some packing, Hubby and I are heading out of town this afternoon.  Have a great day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Lunch, Sweets, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

