Taste of the South


Hubby made supper tonight.  Apparently he was feeling like being somewhere else other than Iowa.  He made Jambalaya.

He got the recipe Rocco Dispirito’s Now Eat this cookbook.  But instead of using brown rice he substituted quinoa.

In the mix:

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 medium yellow onion, cut into small dice
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped fine
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, seeded and cut into small dice
  • 1 cup low-fat, low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 T smoked paprika
  • 3/4 cup quinoa (the recipe called for long-grain brown rice
  • Salt
  • 4 oz andouille sausage, cut into 1/4 inch-thick slices
  • One 14.5 oz can diced fire-roasted tomatoes with their juices
  • 12 oz large shrimp, peeled & deveined

Heat a Dutch oven over medium heat.  When the pot is hot, spray with cooking spray and add the onion, garlic, and bell pepper.  Saute the vegetables until they are almost tender, about 4 minutes. 

Then add the chicken broth, smoked paprika and quinoa (rice).  Season to taste with salt.  Cover and bring the mixture to a simmer.  Reduce theheat to low, and cook for about 25 minutes.

Stir in the sausage and tomatoes.  Cover, and continue to simmer until the quinoa (rice) is tender, about 30 minutes.

Season the shrimp with salt, and stir it into the rice mixture.  Cover, and continue to cook until the shrimp is cooked through and the liquid has been absorbed, about 10 minutes.

Remove the pot from the heat and let the jamalaya rest for 5 minutes.  Then fluff the quinoa (rice) with a fork, and serve.

Let me tell you, this is fantastic.  I asolutely loved this.  I could have eaten 2 or 3 bowls of this but stopped at just one.  This is definitely going into the book of keep recipes.

After supper Hubby and I took the pups for a half hour walk.  When we got back I decided to do yoga, my quads have been killing me since yesterday’s gym workout.  They needed a good stretch.  I did: 

 

(Source)

I could not do the whole thing but let me tell you, my quads feel so much better.  Now it is off to watch the Season finale of Glee that DVRd.  Have a great night.

4 Comments

Filed under Supper, workout

4 responses to “Taste of the South

  1. I’m a cajun girl, and normally I’d throw a fit about jambalaya with anything but rice, but your healthier version looks great! Kudos for mixing it up!

  2. I have gotten where I really enjoy quinoa more than rice, pasta, oatmeal, you name it. I think it is very healthy. Love anything Jillian–the yoga is a nice mix of stretch and work.
    Suzanne

Leave a Reply

