Sad News


Last night at 11:30 the phone rang.  We were notified that Hubby’s grandmother had passed away.


She was 88 years old and had been in the nursing home for the last 3 years.  So needless to say it was a short night.  It is very hard to go back to sleep after receiving such sad news.  Hubby and I talked for awhile and I think he had a restless night worse than I did.  So the pups actually let us sleep until 7:00 this morning (they must have known that we needed the sleep).  We took them for a long walk because we knew it was going to be a crazy day.  Once we got back it was time for breakfast.


In the mix today was Chobani strawberry yogurt with granola an Peach Puffs.  I wasn’t really hungry so it was just right.  Light on the tummy (this tummy couldn’t have handled anything that was to heavy).  After breakfast we did some talking with the kiddos about great-grandma.  They are sad but completely understand.  The sad part is, my poor children have been to way to many funerals , probably more than most people have in their lifetime.  Since they have been born (they are 10 and 12) they have been to 7 funerals.  This will be their 8th funral.  I feel so sorry for them but I can totally relate.  Unfortunately for my children and I my family tends to pass away at an early age.  I am hoping to change that with myself and my parents.

Hubby and I made a trip to Menards and Wal-Mart.  We needed to get additional things for the basement.  If you hadn’t seen the previous post, we now have framework in the basement plus the electrical is almost done.  My father was here on Tuesday and Wednesday and helped out.  He is Mr. Handyman.  He can do pretty much anything (which is great for the pocketbook).  We only have to feed him and give him a bed to sleep in when he is here.  After we got our errands done it as almost 1.  So we stopped at Subway for lunch.

I had a 6inch Turkey and black forest ham on 9 grain wheat.  I added lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, green peppers, tomatoe and honey mustard.  This hit the spot and I was full by the time I got done.  Of course, when we were at Subway, the cookies looked way to good to pass up.

We split the cookies 4 ways. There was White Chocolate Macadamia Nut, M & M and Raspberry Cheesecake.  Must tell you, Raspberry Cheesecake to the cake.  I am definitely going to have to figure out how to make these.

While we were at Menards we picked up a new cushion for our lounge chair to go with our new patio set.

Chickie had to try it out with while reading a book.  Of course, it is very windy out so she had to take a blanket out to keep warm.  She said it worked great and she would be spending may a summer day out there. 

So the afternoon was spent doing laundry, cleaning, ironing and packing.

I did manage to squeeze in making supper tonight.

Oregano-Lemon Chicken

  • 4 Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 3 T lemon juice
  • 2 T honey
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 t. drid oregano

Place the chicken in a greased 13-in.x0-in.x2-in. baking dish.  Combine the lemon juice, honey, oil, garlic and oregano; pour over chicken.

Bake uncovered, at 375° for 45 minutes or until a meat therometer reads 180° and chicken juices run clear, basing occasionally with pan juices.

This was very, very good.  We served ours with a side of corn and a glass of Stella Rosa.

Now off to spend sometime with Hubby and unwind so hopefully we can both sleep tonight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch

Leave a Reply

