Chocolate Kind of Day


Some days all you need is chocolate and today was one of them.  I was so tired this morning that I could hardly get out of bed.  I got up in time to take the pups for a quick walk.  Then after a quick shower it was time for breakfast.

Peanut Butter Cup Oats with a side of Joe

JoeI used Sarah from Peas & Thank Yous recipe with a few modifications. 

In the mix:

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 1/2 T. cocoa powder
  • 1 packet Truvia
  • 1/4 t. vanilla extract 
  • 1 T. peanut butter
  • 2/3 c. almond milk
  • Combine oats, cocoa powder and Truvia in a microwave safe bowl & stir.
  • Add valnilla, peanut butter, milk & banana and mix.
  • Microwave for 1 minutes, remove & stir.
  • Microwave for 1 additional minute, stir and serve.
  • NOTE:  Make sure it doesnt boil over, as you can see from my bowl it did.  Oops.  At least I clean it up when I make my mess.Time to eat

This was very good and very filling.  In fact, I couldn’t even eat the whole thing.  Then it was off to work.

Another cup of Joe?

When I got to work, I could tell it was going to be one of those days at work.  So I defintely needed another cup of Joe.  The only thing is at work there is no creamer so what I do substitue it with, hot chocolate packet.  Yep, more chocolate.  As you can tell there is quite a bit of pink at my desk.  This is not only because I like pink it is also because 6 years ago my mom was diagnosised with breast cancer.  Luckily she only had to have a lump removed but it was in her lymph nodes so she had to go through chemo and radiation.  My mom is one strong woman.  She never let it get her down and she continued to work and take care of her family.  I hope one day that I will have half the strength that she showed while going through all this.  Not only did she have physical strength, she also had emotional, positive strength that I have never seen.  I thank God every day for her.  Seeing my grandmother die when I was 10 from breast cancer really made me scared.  I wanted me kids to be able to have their grandmother through their whole childhood and into their adult life.  Luckily my mom has been cancer free since then.  So after she got done with her surgery, radiation and chemo, what did we do to celebrate?  What everyone does when they win a huge game.

Walt Disney World

 
Yep, we all went to Walt Disney World.  Why not go to the happiest place on earth.  In fact, this ended up being the first time that my mom, dad, sister and brother ever flew.  It was one exciting trip.  We all had a blast.  Hard to believe it was 5 years ago.  Definetly need to go back.
So now it was time for lunch.  Of course this is what our breakroom looks like today.

Holy Batman, weve got food

Yep, our breakroom table was absolutely covered in food, brownies, donuts, cupcakes and bars.  Nothing like evil tempting you like crazy.

Lunch

 
 
Yep, have to have some cheese with it.  It was so, so good.
Of course, I couldn’t let all the brownies and bars sit there.  I could hear them calling my name and saying how lonely they were.  So I must oblige their request.
I was really good for lunch.  I did take some fruit from what was in the breakroom, actually quite a bit of fruit with some dip.  Plus I had a Thomas Cinnamon Bagel Raisin Thin with a Morningstar Tomatoe & Basil Pizza Burger with sliced Muenster Cheese melted on it.  Yum, Yum.       

More chocolate

 
Hello Brownie, nice to meet you.  Thank you for calling my name and my stomach thanks you.  Just what I needed, more chocolate today.  You would think with all of the chocolate I have had today I would be on a sugar high.  Nope not yet.  Let me tell you though, this brownie helped me make it through the day at work.  It was just one of those days at work and I needed all kinds of chocolate.
So after the chocolate today, what do I make for supper?

Mac and Cheese with a side of pears

 
I’m sure you thought I was going to say chocolate, nope I was craving mac and cheese and pears.  I know, kind of weird combo but sometimes a body just needs some comfort food.  This is actually a lighter version of Mac and Cheese and I will have to put the recipe up at some point but right now my cheesecake is about done so I need to get it out of the oven before it burns.  Yep I made a cheesecake because we have company tomorrow night.  I will have to put the recipe up for it at a later date also.  Have a great night and catch you on the flip side.
 
 
Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Lunch, Supper

Leave a Reply

