Pasta Primavera


Hubby made pasta primavera for supper.  But before I get to that I will let you know that I went to the gym today for my circuit class.  I was not feeling this at all.  I was tired thanks to the fact that I did not get my coffee this morning.  I slept in since the kiddos didn’t have school and I could take my time getting ready.  The circuit class kicked my behind.  We did some elipitcal work, a little lower body work and a lot of upper body work.  Unfortunately I have no upper body strength whatsoever.  I have never had upper body strength and I am hoping taking this class will help.

So after gym it was lunch time.

Soup

Soup from a can.  it was some type of vegetable/pasta soup.  It was full of all kinds of veggies and it hit the spot (at the time).  Unfortunately an hour after eating this I was hungry.  It seems like after I take my class at the gym I am so hungry the rest of the day and I just can’t get enough to eat.  So luckily I had packed enough extra food for my hunger.

Apple

I had an apple.  I love apples.  I think I was missing the crunch with my lunch earlier.  I seem to have to have a crunch when I am eating.  My brain must need to think my mouth has to chew in order to fill my tummy.  I thought that would do the trick but about 1 1/2 hours later I was hungry again.  This is crazy.  It seems like I couldn’t get enough to eat.  So I had some granola.

Homemade Granola

I used Mama Pea’s Cherry Almond Granola recipe.  Let me tell you, this is the best granola I have ever had.  Thank you Mama Pea.  This granola is sweet and yet savory.  Unfortunately I love to eat it plain.  I meant to put it in with some greek yogurt but I ended up eating the rest of my container at my desk.  I could not get enough of this.

So when I got home, Hubby had made Pasta Primavera for supper.

Pasta Primavera

This is so, so good.

Pasta Primavera

  • 3/4 pound standard, whole wheat or whole grain penne (we used rotini)
  • 1 pound (1 bunch) medium asparagus, tough bottom stems broken off & discarded, remainder cut into 1 1/2-in. sections.
  • 1 (15 oz.) can chicken stock
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • Pepper, to taste
  • 1 1/2 T. plus 2 t. olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped small
  • 1/8 t. red pepper flakes
  • 4 oz. shiitake mushrooms, stemmed & sliced
  • 4 oz. cremini mushrooms, trimmed & cut into quarters or sixths, depending on size
  • 1 c. frozen peas
  • 2 pieces sun-dried tomatoes
  • 2 T chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese
  • 6 oz. bag baby spinach
  • 2 scalliions, chopped

1.  Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil for the pasta.

2.  Combine the aspargus, 1/4 c. of stock & 1/4 t. salt in a large skillet.  Cover & cook over medium heat, until al dente, 3 to 5 minutes.  Transfer to a bowl with any remaining stock.  Set aside.

3.  In the same skillet, heat the oil with the garlic & onion over low heat.  Cover & cook until the vegetables soften but do not brown, 3 to 4 minutes.  Stir in the red pepper.

4.  Add the mushrooms, and raise the heat to medium-high.  Cook until the mushrooms are lightly browned & softened, about 5 minutes.  If mushrooms begin to stick to the bottom of the pan, add 2 T. stock and stir to release.

5.  Add the peas, the rest of the stock, & 1 T. of the parsely.  Remove from the heat and set aside.

6.  Add the pasta to the boiling waster & cook about two-thirds of teh way, about 6 minutes.

7.  Remove 1 c. of pasta water & add it to the skillet with the vegetables.  Drain the pawsta in a colander & add it to the skillet.  Bring liquid to a boil; cook until reduced by about one-half.  Add all but about 2 T. of the Parmesan cheese, the asparagus, 1/2 t. salt, 1/4 t. pepper, and the spinach (Hubby left this out because I am the only one who likes it).  cook, tossing with tongs, until the liquid is reduced and thickened and the spinach is wilted, 1 to 2 minutes.

8.  Divide the pasta between 4 bowls & sprinkle with scallions & sun-dried tomatoes (we left these off).  Drizzle each with 1/2 t. oil & sprinkle with the remaining cheese.

This is really, really good.  Everyone ate including the kiddos plus it is a meatless Monday meal. 

Now off to do some yoga.  Have a great night.

P.S.  The Shoe Page has been updated.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lunch, Supper

Leave a Reply

