Breakfast for Supper


Yep, I love breakfast – the pancakes, waffles, french toast – the whole nine yards.  I think the reason I love it so much is because it is sweet.  Any time I can have anything sweet I am right there for it.  So I was looking through my cook book of “Cook Yourself Thin” and I came across a reciepe for Stuffed French Toast Sundaes.  No way, french toast and a sundae, oh I am so there. 

Stuffed French Toast Sundaes:

8 slices whole wheat bread, crusts removed.

In a bowl, whisk together:

  • 2 whole eggs;
  • 2 egg whites;
  • 4 T. skim milk;
  • 1 t. ground cinnamon
  • 2 t. honey

Spray a nonstick muffin pan with carlore-free vegetable spray.

Carefully dip each slice of the bread into the egg/milk mixture and press it into the muffin pan.

Bake at 375° for 12 minutes until crisp.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, mix togerther 1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese until smooth.

Spoon equal amounts of ricotta mixture into each of the bread cups and top with berries.  (I used 1 c. raspberries and 1 c. blackberries and combined them.  Drizzle with syrup on top.

I thought these were excellent.  Hubby said they were okay and the neither of the kiddos like them.  If it was just me I would definitely make them again but since it is not, probably won’t ever have these again.

Now it is off to watch a couple of movies we rented.  Black Swan and Tron.  I’ll let you know tomorrow what I think of them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Supper, Sweets

Leave a Reply

