What’s a mother to do?


Before I get to my problem, let’s start with what’s for supper.

M & Ms

Just kidding, this was an afternoon snack.  I was craving chocolate at 3:00 and let’s be honest, I could never, ever give up chocolate that’s like asking the Sun not to be yellow.

Monday's Supper

Turkey Quesadilla with a side of fruit.

In the tortilla shell is turkey, cheddar cheese and mozerlla cheese.  I topped it with salsa and greek yogurt.

In the fruit mix is grapes, kiwi and pineapple.  Needed to get some more fruit in since I don’t have much today.

Now on to my problem.  The kiddos did not have school today and I left them a list of chores to do.  When I got home from work I checked to make sure they had done the chores.  They both tell me yep, we did them.  My 12 year old (Bubba) flat out lied to me.  He did not do one of the chores that was on the list.  As a punishment he is doing the chore now and he has lost his ipod for the rest of the week.

My problem is, they want to stay home by themselves for the summer since they are 12 and 10.  I just don’t want them being home alone all day and watching t.v. and playing on the computer.  That is not how I think they should spend the summer.  I know that they are at the age where they are too old to go to a daycare for the summer.  I just don’t know what to do with them all summer long.  I work from 8:30 to 5:00 Monday through Friday and Hubby works 7:00 to 3:00 Monday through Friday and it is hard to run them to different activities during the day.  I can’t leave my job all the time.  I’m asking, what do other mothers do with their children who are at this age for the summer?  I am at a complete loss as what to do.  Any input would be very valuable.

Leave a comment

Filed under Supper

Leave a comment