Gym Time . . .


Okay, as most of you know I started at the gym 2 weeks ago.  I measured this morning and I lost 1 inch each from my waist and hips – YEAH!  Of course, I am disappointed that I only lost 1 pound.  How is that possible?  Well I have decided that I need to add more cardio into my workout routine.  So I have been lurking following Tina at Faith, Fitness, Fun who had a baby 2 months ago (by the way, they are the most adorable children ever, sorry I digress, but they are adorable).  She started a running program following the Couch to 5K running plan.  She is now running 3 miles per day.  She has been an inspiration to me to start doing some cardio, well if she can do it 2 months after having a baby, so can I (even though I hate running and never even did track in high school because I hated running).  But I am going to be positive and try this fitness plan and see how it works for me.  So on Saturday I went for a run.  I was pleasantly surprised on how well I felt and how well I did.  I didn’t actually follow the plan exactly.  I actually ran for 2 minutes and walked 1 minute.  I felt good so why not start there.  So now I am going to continue with the plan and see if in 9 weeks I am actually up to run a 5K.  My plan is to actually run a 5K race by the end of August (must give myself plenty of time to gear up for this, I am no spring chicken) and I want to lose 20 pounds by my birthday (the end of June).  In case you haven’t seen the pictures of me, 20 pounds is only the beginning but I’m hopeful that with doing the gym 3 days a week, watching what I eat (as it goes into my mouth, just kidding, I really need to focuse on eating more fruits and veggies and less sweets) and do cardio on opposite days that I go to the gym, I think my goals are within reach.  I want to thank all the fitness bloggers out there who have given me the inspiration to try this goal.

Now that I have bored the pants off you, let’s move on to today.

This is me before the gym:

Sorry, mirror at work not the best.

Me after the gym:

Yep, I feel like I could throw up

I increased my weights today.  It is hard to believe that after just 2 weeks I already need to increase my weights.  Apparently something is working, not sure where but I think I will eventually find it (hopefully otherwise I am going to have the best looking cellulite at the beach this summer).

On to Lunch:

Monday Lunch

I had the leftover Chicken-Fried Steak from last night and Chobani.  The only place in my neck of the woods that I can get Chobani is Target and then they only sell 4 flavors.  I so, so, so (that’s a lot of sos) want to try the lemon.  Everyone raves about it and they don’t sell it where I live. 😦  Anyway, I digress again.  By the time I got to the Chobani I needed a little crunch

A little crunch

I added a little of Kashi Go Lean Crunch Cereal.  Just what I needed.  In case you hadn’t noticed, missing vegetables and fruit.  Like I said above, must work on that.  Not a very good fruit eater so will have to do a little  lot of extra planning to get that in.  Now it is back to work.  Have a great afternoon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lunch

Leave a Reply

