Homemade Turkey Noodle Soup


Yep that’s what I made.  But before I go there, as I sat down to write this blog, this is what I had to work around.

Pay attention to me

Yep, she’s not happy I’m not spending time with her and instead I am more interested in the computer. 

So as you know the last couple of nights I have made comments in my posts about making homemade noodles and baking a cake.  Well the reason is I need to take food to our office manager and his family.  He found out one month ago that he has bladder cancer and a tumor in his kidney.  He had surgery Monday at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota to have one kidney removed and tumors taken out of his bladder.  The news ended up being good.  He had stage 1 cancer and he does not need chemo.  We are all so happy.  So what makes anyone better when they are sick, chicken noodle soup.  What makes it even better, homemade egg noodles.

So into the bowl goes 4 eggs.

4 eggs

Beat until frothy.

Frothy

Then you add 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 tsp salt and enough flour until it comes together until you are able to roll it.

Dough

I ended up using between 3 1/2 to 4 cups of flour.

Dough is ready to be rolled

Roll, roll, roll the dough

You want to make sure it is pretty thin when you are done rolling it.

Dough is ready to be cut

When you finally have it rolled out, you then take a pizza cutter or a pastry cutter and cut the dough into thin strips, like noodles.

Cutting the strips

All done cutting

Then you put them on wax paper to dry overnight.

Waiting to dry

By morning they will be hard and dry.

Then I made the soup.  We cooked onions, celery and carrots in olive oil until soft. 

cook, cook and cook

Then I added chicken broth

Chicken broth

then, cut up turkey (I didn’t have any chicken but you could use it as well)

Turkey

Then the homemade egg noodles

Noodles

Bring to a boil and cook on med/high for 15 minutes or until noodles are soft.  Let simmer on low until ready to eat.

Simmer

Ready to eat

For dessert I made a devils food cake.  The catch is my office manager is diabetic.  So instead of adding the oil, eggs and water I just added 1 can (12 ounces) of Diet Cherry Pepsi.

Add pop

Mix according to the box directions and bake according to the box directions.

All mixed

Then bake according to box directions.

Cooling

For the frosting, I just used cool whip.

Ready to eat

Now it is off to spend some time with the pup and watch some basketball.  Have a great night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Supper

Leave a Reply

