Woodworking with the kids


While I was at work this afternoon, Mr. T and the kiddos got to work on cutting the wood for our basement.  Apparently the 2X4s have to be ripped (cut) in half due to the way our windows are in the basement.  It is so there is not such a big gab around the windows from the dry wall.  I’ll show you once we actually start putting the wood up.

The Boards

The Saw

Starting the Board

Setting the saw

After going through the saw

The end result

After I got home they were done cutting the boards.  So it was time for me to start fixing supper.

Tonight was a new recipe.  It was Ground Beef ‘n’ Biscuits.
First you cook 1/2 cup chopped onion, 1/2 cup chopped celery and 1 1/2 pounds ground beef until beef is no longer pink.

OnionGround beef and celery

Then you mix in 2 T flour, 1 t salt, 1/4 t dried oregano and 1/8 t pepper.

Flour, salt, oregano and pepper.

Stir to combine and then add 16 oz can tomatoe sauce and 10 ounces frozen peas.

Tomatoe SauceTomatoe sauce and peas

Combine and cook for 5 minutes.  When done transfer to a greased 9X13 pan and top with 1 tube (7 1/2 oz)biscuits and sprinkle with 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese.
I did not have biscuits instead I used crescent rolls.  Put in oven and bake for 20 minutesat 350°.

Looks yummy!

Time to eat

This was delicious.  Even the kiddos had seconds.

Seconds? Don't mind if I do.Then it was time for dessert. While the kiddos were at the grandparents they made . . . Ho Ho Cupcakes. Oh yes they did.Oh yes, come to mama.Bonus, cream filling.

They are as good as they look.  My tummy is very happy.
Plus when I got home today I had a free sample of HealthiDent Dental Treats for Dogs.  Yep, Gizzy liked them.

Give me, give me.

 Now I am off to watch the new season of Dancing with the Stars!!

1 Comment

Filed under Supper, Wood

One response to “Woodworking with the kids

  1. Pingback: Repeat Meal | Mother of 2 Lover of Shoes

Leave a Reply

