Shadow Box


Mr. T’s grandfather passed away a year ago and we have his military stripes from when he was in the Army in WWII.  So I decided to put them in a shadow box.  This is what I started with:

Mr. T’s grandmother had glued all of the strips on to paper and had them in a photo album.  I pulled out a couple of pictures that I wanted to add to the shadow box along with the military stripes.

Here is the shadow box and I knew I didn’t like the black backgroundbecause of the military stripes and it was made of felt.  So  I decided that I needed to cover it with paper that was covered in flags.

But of course the paper I liked did not fit the shadow box perfectly.  So I measured to cut the paper to fit the size I needed.

So once I cut the paper to size, I needed to connect the little strip that I need to finish covering the felt.  The best way to do that was to overlap the two pieces of paper to try to make a clean seam and glue them together.

Once that was done, I could then glue the paper to the felt.  I used a glue runner which allowed the glue to be rolled own plus it was acid free so it would not hurt the pictures or the stripes.

I put strips of tape all across the back of the paper so it would stick to the felt.

No more felt.  As you can see I covered the felt perfectly and you cannot even see the seam of wherethe 2 pieces of paper connect.

Then it is just a matter of putting things on the paper and moving them around until you find the way you like everything on the paper the best. 

As you can tell it took me many tries of playing around with it to figure out what I exactly wanted.  As long as they weren’t glued down, I could move them around as much as possible.  Once I found the way I liked it, I then glued everything down.

The finished product.  It took me about 20 minutes to do this project.  I think it turned out fantastic.

We love and miss you George!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Craft

Leave a Reply

